Safeguarding Our Children

Beth El Synagogue Center (“Beth El”) is a community that holds the safety and well-being of our children as sacred. This policy applies to all members of the congregation and community – including all staff members, congregants, volunteers and guests.

Beth El aims to provide children with a positive and enriching Jewish, educational, spiritual, social and cultural environment that promotes their intellectual, moral and emotional growth. Beth El is deeply committed to safeguarding the young people in our community so they feel and are safe at all times. Beth El strives for the highest standards towards protecting them from abuse. With that goal in mind, and through a process of reflection and study that took place over the course of 2022, with the guidance and support of the Aleinu Campaign, a project of Sacred Spaces, we have created Safeguarding Our Children, A Child Protection Policy.

This policy is meant to be a fluid and evolving document. As time passes, and we learn from our collective experiences and the practical nature of the policy’s implementation, its parameters may need to be altered – such change is a healthy process that will enable those charged with safeguarding our children to be responsive to altered circumstances and the practical needs of our community. The most updated version of this policy will always be available on our website.

All members of the Beth El community are required to conduct themselves in a manner consistent with being a positive role model (Dugma Ishit) for children and other adults and to follow this policy.

We will keep the community apprised of the important work of this committee as it progresses.