Sign In Forgot Password

Join a Committee

Join a Committee

Below please find the list of committees at Beth El Synagogue. Click here for the Sign-up Sheet.

Adult Education (Limmud) – Aims to promote intellectual, social and personal growth of our members by providing a variety of educational programs at all levels of ability and interests. Meets seasonally as needed.
Committee Chair: Jack Gruenberg (jackgruenberg@gmail.com)

Audit and Finance – Supervises the finances of the congregation, develops and presents annual budget. Selects auditor. Meets several times per year.
Committee Chair: Joe Wygoda (jwygodya@outlook.com)

Awards and Scholarships – Establishes and maintains awards and scholarships for the Religious School and summer program. Meets seasonally.
Committee Chair: Lauren Berger (lberger422@aol.com)

Catering/Kiddush – Negotiates and manages the catering contract.
Committee Chairs: Abe Bartell (abebartell@verizon.net) and Barbara Horowitz (barbara.w.horowitz@gmail.com)

Cemetery – Manages the sale of cemetery plots and arranges all matters related to interment. Meets as needed.
Committee Chairs: Mark Silver (mark.s.silver@verizon.net)

Chesed Community – This committee brings members together to acknowledge joyful moments, comfort the sorrowful, bring companionship to those who may be lonely, and assistance to those in need. Volunteers, including team leaders, are needed for such services as driving to doctors appointments; telephoning the homebound; holiday assistance such as preparing for Pesach or building a sukkah; preparation of meals for the bereaved; providing a daily minyan at home; bikkur cholim (visiting the sick) at home or hospital; cooking meals for families with new babies. Meets monthly.
Committee Chairs: Ellen Gelboim (esgelboim@gmail.com) and Sandy Gruenberg (gamson36@gmail.com)

Constitution – Advises the Executive Council and Board of Trustees regarding the interpretation and application of synagogue constitution and recommends and evaluates proposed constitutional amendments. Meets as needed.
Committee Chairs: Nadine Jacobson (njacobson@fzlz.com)

Day Camp – Establishes policy and procedures for the Beth El Summer Camp and monitors admission and hiring practices. Meets monthly as necessary.

Endowment – Oversees the investment and disbursement of endowment funds. Meets quarterly. A motion passed by the Board of Trustees restricts membership to seven people.
Committee Chair: Joe Wygoda (jwygodya@outlook.com)

Financial Arrangements – Resolves and adjusts funds owed by Synagogue members. Reviews special financial arrangements. Meets as needed.
Committee Chair: Karen Sadok (msadok@verizon.net)

Families Initiative Committee – Serves to enhance and enrich program offerings for families.
Committee Chairs: Tracey Levy (etlevy@verizon.net) Evan Levy (evan.levy@skadden.com)

Fundraising – Raises needed funds for the synagogue, including annual events and special initiatives. Meets as required.

Havurah (Alternate) Service – The Havurah Service is an egalitarian service which provides both men and women the opportunity to receive aliyot, to read Torah and to deliver the D’var Torah. Everyone is welcome to read Torah and to participate in the Service to the extent of his or her ability. Meets twice monthly.
Committee Chairs: Rob Weber (1topgum@gmail.com) David Shechter (david@shechterlab.org)

High Holiday honors – Assigns High Holiday honors in the main sanctuary.
Committee Chairs: Edward Schwartz (schwartze@mville.edu) and Linda Newman (lnewman@bethelnr.org)

Human Resources – Develops and implements employment policies for synagogue staff.
Committee Chairs: Aaron Fleishaker (fleishaker@aol.com) and Jody Burton (jodyburton@optonline.net)

Interreligious Council – Fosters the communality and interests among the various religious groups in our community to promote understanding, education and harmony. There are three general meetings, plus a community awards dinner and an ecumenical Thanksgiving service.
Committee Chair: Betty Grad-Gross (Bgrad1@juno.com)

Israel Affairs – Encourages cultural, political and educational programs and activities in support of the people of Israel.
Committee Chair: David Horowitz (dbhlspc@aol.com)

Keruv (Inclusion/Special Needs) Keruv means inclusion. This committee serves to ensure that both longtime and new members feel welcome to and comfortable at Beth El.
Committee Chair: Elise Richman (elisekrichman@gmail.com) and Nina Luban (nina.luban@gmail.com)

Major Maintenance – Attends to the daily maintenance and operation of the physical plant. Responsible for purchasing, installation, management and operation of all capital equipment. Meets weekly and as needed.
Committee Chairs: Aaron Fleishaker (fleishaker@aol.com) and Joseph Resnick (josephresnick@hotmail.com)

Membership – Provides a welcome package and develops both activities and outreach to new members. Follow-up is also made to members who resign to continually improve how we serve our members. Meets as necessary.
Committee Chairs: Lisa Patchen (lisarob1@optonline.net) Vanessa Kerchner (vanessa.kerchner@gmail.com)

Museum – Arranges, develops, implements and publicizes exhibits, and, upon request, opening celebrations and arranges for the possible sale of art in our museum. Meets as necessary.
Committee Chair: Michael Greenberg (mikemila@aol.com)

Nursery School Board and Parent Association – Establishes policy and procedures for the Nursery School and monitors its enrollment practices. Many of the board’s positions are filled by parents with children in the Nursery School, but this is not a requirement. Parents organize many social and fundraising activities throughout the year. At board meetings, parents have the opportunity to discuss ideas, issues and concerns they may have. The board offers you a way to show your support for the Nursery School and have a good time with friends and other Nursery School parents. Meets frequently throughout the school year.
Committee Chair: Rachel Messinger (dancingrm@gmail.com)

Religious School Board – Establishes policy and procedures for the Beth El Religious School and Community Hebrew High School and monitors the quality of their programs. Meets monthly.
Committee Chair: Ellen Barlis (ebarlis@optonline.net)

Ritual – Plans and supervises all activities and services of a religious nature carried on by or affecting the congregation. Membership is composed of the synagogue clergy and members of the congregation. Relevant issues and topics are discussed and reviewed at meetings, where any member can submit a topic, in advance, for consideration on the agenda. The committee meets six times per year.
Committee Chair: Michael Wechsler (wex5648@aol.com)

Security – Evaluates, plans and executes the security arrangements for the synagogue’s facility. Meets as necessary.
Committee Chairs: Michael Dorfman (michaeldorfman@aol.com) and Russ Fayer (rfayer@fayerlaw.com)

Ushering – Our ushers seek to welcome all congregants and make them feel comfortable in our services, as well as ensure that decorum is observed during services. Meetings are as needed. Volunteers are needed for High Holiday services, Shabbat and Festival services, and Friday Night and Sunday bat mitzvah celebrations.
Committee Chair: Debbie Young (debbienyoung@gmail.com )

Youth Activities – Works closely with our Director of Youth and Family Engagement to oversee the programs and activities of our youth groups. Through these programs, we seek to enrich the Jewish lives of our children through social action and other varied and creative activities. Volunteers are also needed for supervision of the various groups and for activities such as the Purim Carnival, the Israeli Day Parade and other annual activities.

Sun, 23 April 2017 27 Nisan 5777